Ezra Jack Keats Award

EJK Award is given annually to an outstanding new writer and new illustrator by the Ezra Jack Keats Foundation in partnership with the de Grummond Children’s Literature Collection at the University of Southern Mississippi (USM).

Read more about the award

Submission Guidelines


Meet the 2021 35th Anniversary Award Winners and Honorees

Writer Award Winner, Tricia Elam Walker

Nana Akua Goes to School

Illustrator Award Winner, Heidi Woodward Sheffield

Brick by Brick


Writer Award Honoree
Jarrett & Jerome Pumphrey
Writer Award Honoree
Raymond Antrobus
Illustrator Award Honoree
Steve Small
Illustrator Award Honoree
Victoria Tentler-Krylov

Run a Mock EJK Award

The Mock EJK Award Toolkits provide guidance for an exciting group activity in which you and your students discuss, evaluate and together vote for the Mock EJK Award winners.

Learn more