The Ezra Jack Keats Foundation

EJK Bookmaking Competition
2022 NYC EJK Bookmaking Competition

Winners Announced - Get Inspired

Outstanding NYC student made books. Written & illustrated by students in grades 3-12

Exhibition May 2 - May 31: Brooklyn Public Library, Central Library

Books of Wonder
EJK Award Virtual Book Tour

May 10, 7pm ET - Brave + Kind (Decatur, GA)
June 1, 6pm Central/7pm ET - BookPeople (Austin, TX)
June 13, 6pm PT/9pm ET - Skylight Books (Los Angeles, CA)

More info coming soon

EJK Mini-Grants
EJK Mini-Grants
Postponed until 2023

We are’re excited about the changes we’re making but sorry to be out of service for one more year.

Tools for Teachers and Librarians
For Educators

Virtual and In-Person learning tools support teachers and librarians.
Book Discussion Guides develop active and critical reading skills
Mock EJK Award lesson plans promote interactive engagement
Read Aloud Guide for all age groups
Keats in your classroom
Keats Author Study, Lesson Plans, Ezra's Bio for kids

Mock EJK Award
Mock EJK Award Program

- How to adapt the program for children of all ages
- Virtual and In-Person lesson plans
- Sample criteria and a sample voting process

2022 EJK Award Winners
2022 EJK Award Winners & Honors

Writer Winner: Paul Harbridge, Out Into the Big Wide Lake
Illustrator Winner: Gracey Zhang, Lala’s Words

Writer Honors: Joanna Ho, Playing at the Border, Anne Wyntor, Everybody in the Red Brick Building

Illustrator Honors: Marta Bartolj, Every Little Kindness, Kaneesha Sneed, Many Shapes of Clay

previous arrow
next arrow

Hidden block for testing

The Snowy Day

Read the book, play the game, listen to the beat-box read-aloud. Plus, find activities, lesson plans and videos.