Press Room

2021 Ezra Jack Keats Award Winners and Honorees Announced

Posted: March 9, 2021

Ezra Jack Keats Foundation Celebrates 

35th Anniversary of Annual Book Award

March 9, 2021, Brooklyn, NY: The Ezra Jack Keats Foundation (EJK Foundation), in partnership with the de Grummond Children’s Literature Collection at the University of Southern Mississippi (USM), today announced the winners of the 2021 Ezra Jack Keats Award (EJK Award), as well as five honorees. Celebrating its 35th anniversary in 2021, with the theme of “Advancing Diversity in Children’s Literature,” the annual EJK Award honors exceptional early career authors and illustrators for portraying the multicultural nature of our world in the spirit of Ezra Jack Keats. This year, the virtual award ceremony will be held on April 13, 2021 during the Fay B. Kaigler Children’s Book Festival at USM in Hattiesburg, Mississippi. 

View and Download This Press Release

High Resolution Graphics


In the Media