About the Bookmaking Competition

Students, grades 3 – 12, from schools throughout the five boroughs create books that reflect their lives and dreams. Because of our diverse population that means children from virtually every walk of life, from families who’ve come from countries around the world, are recognized for their abilities. Winners have come from gifted and special education programs, traditional classrooms and prison.

The Competition is divided into three levels: grades 3 – 5, 6 – 8, and 9 – 12. One book is selected to represent each level from each school. These school winners are sent on to a jury of artists, authors and experts in children’s literature who select city and borough winners, and honorable mentions, at each level.

At the annual awards ceremony city winners receive a medal and $500, and borough winners, a medal and $100. Honorable mentions and school winners receive a medal. The teachers and librarians who advised them are recognized at the ceremony and receive a collection of children’s books from Penguin Random House.

There is also an annual exhibition of books, in May, in the Children’s Wing at the Central Library.and every child who creates a book receives a personal certificate of commendation.

*The Ezra Jack Keats Bookmaking Competition is a partnership between the Ezra Jack Keats Foundation, the New York City Department of Education and Brooklyn Public Library.

Bookmaking Resources

Coming soon
Teacher & Student Handbook
NYC/DOE Guidelines