Anniversary Committees

The Ezra Jack Keats Foundation and The de Grummond Children’s Literature Collection at the University of Southern Mississippi are proud to introduce the individuals on our Executive Committee, Advisory Committee and Leadership Team, who have signed on to implement, honor and celebrate the 35th Anniversary of the Ezra Jack Keats Award.

Executive Committee

Our 35th Anniversary Executive Committee includes esteemed executives and senior leaders from major publishing houses, universities, public library systems, and advocacy organizations. They share the goals of the EJK Award and are actively dedicated to the creation and development of children’s literature that reflect the diverse population of our country and world.

Jon Anderson, President and Publisher
Children’s Publishing Division, Simon & Schuster

Rita Auerbach, Chair
EJK Award committee

Rodney Bennett, President
The University of Southern Mississippi

Terry Borzumato-Greenberg, V.P. Marketing & Publicity
Holiday House Publishing

Thelma Golden, Director
Studio Museum in Harlem

Melissa Jacobs, Director of Library Services
NYC DOE Office of Library Services

Linda E. Johnson, Pres./CEO
Brooklyn Public Library

Carl Lennertz, Executive Director
Children’s Book Council

Leonard Marcus, Curator, Author, Historian

Anthony Marx, President & CEO
New York Public Library

Claudette McLinn, Executive Director
Center for the Study of Multicultural Children’s Literature

Richard Michelson, Author & Founder/Owner
R. Michelson Galleries

Suzanne Murphy, President & Publisher
HarperCollins Children’s Books

Vaunda Nelson, Author, Youth Services Librarian (retired)
Rio Rancho Public Library, New Mexico

Lin Oliver, Executive Director
Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators

Catherine Onder, Senior Vice-President & Publisher
Books for Young Readers, Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

Andrea Davis Pinkney, Award Winning Author, Editor-at-Large

Deborah Pope, Executive Director
Ezra Jack Keats Foundation

Jennifer Roberts, Executive Director of Marketing, Publicity, and Events

Ellen Ruffin, Curator Literature Collection
De Grummond Collection

Yolanda Scott, Associate Publisher and Editorial Director

Deborah Taylor, Coordinator, Student & Youth Services (Retired)
Enoch Pratt Free Library, Baltimore

Megan Tingley, Executive Vice President & Publisher
Hachette Book Group

Patty Bayer Troup, Trustee
Ezra Jack Keats Foundation, Board Member

Allison Verost, Senior Vice President & Deputy Publisher
Macmillan Children’s Publishing Group

Dennis Walcott, Pres./CEO
Queens Public LIbrary

Faith Wallace Gadsden, Managing Director
Archemides Project

Caroline Ward, Youth Literature Consultant

Ken Wright, President & Publisher
Viking Children’s Books, Philomel Books, Penguin Random House

Advisory Committee

The authors and illustrators listed below have received Ezra Jack Keats Awards and/or Honors, have been jurors on the EJK Award Selection Committee* and/or have nurtured the EJK Award.

Micha Archer, Author/Illustrator, Website

Adam Auerbach, Author/Illustrator, Website

Jessixa Bagley, Author/Illustrator, Website

Derrick Barnes, Author, Website

Cari Best, Author, Website

Sophie Blackall, Author/Illustrator, Website

Shirin Yim Bridges, Publisher, Author, Website

Keith Calabrese, Author, Website

K.G. Campbell, Author/Illustrator, Website

Bryan Collier, Author/Illustrator, Website

Misty Copeland, American Ballet dancer & Author, Website

Ashleigh Corrin, Illustrator

*Nina Crews, Illustrator, Instagram

Laurel Croza, Author, Website

*Pat Cummings, Author/Illustrator, Website

Mike Curato, Author/Illustrator, Website

Bianca Diaz, Illustrator, Website

*Sharon Draper, Author, Website

Ame Dyckman, Author, Website

*Zetta Elliott, Author, Website

Matthew Farina, Author

Julie Fogliano, Author, Instagram

E.B. Goodale, Author/Illustrator, Website

Janice N. Harrington, Author, Website

Chris Haughton, Author/Illustrator, Website

Juanita Havill, Author

Daisy Hirst, Author/Illustrator, Website

Stian Hole, Author/Illustrator, Facebook

Matt James, Author/Illustrator, Website

D.B. Johnson, Author/Illustrator, Website

Jenny Sue Kostecki-Shaw, Author/Illustrator, Website

Megan Dowd Lambert, Author, Website

Jennifer Lanthier, Author, Website

Jessica Love, Author/Illustrator, Website

Elaine Magliaro, Author, Facebook

*Fran Manushkin, Author, Website

Juana Martinez-Neal, Author/Illustrator, Website

Stacy McAnulty, Author, Website

Meg Medina, Author, Website

Aaron Meshon, Author/Illustrator, Website

Pat Zietlow Miller, Author, Website

Oge Mora, Illustrator, Website

*Christopher Myers, Author/Illustrator, Website

Soyung Pak, Author, Twitter

Zeke Peña, Illustrator, Website

Bao Phi, Author, Website

Chris Raschka, Author/Illustrator, Twitter

Kate Read, Author/Illustrator, Website

Christian Robinson, Author/Illustrator, Website

Mara Rockliff, Author, Website

*Marisabina Russo, Author/Illustrator, Facebook

Doug Salati, Illustrator, Website

Francesca Sanna, Illustrator, Website

Julia Sarcone-Roach, Author/Illustrator, Website

Sydney Smith, Author/Illustrator, Website

Shadra Strickland, Illustrator, Website

Stephanie Stuve-Bodeen, Author, Website

John Sullivan, Author, Simon & Schuster

*Melissa Sweet, Author/Illustrator, Website

Mariahadessa Ekere Tallie, Author, Website

Don Tate, Author/Illustrator, Website

Yoriko Tsutsui, Author

Evan Turk, Author/Illustrator, Website

Chieri Uegaki, Author, Website

Phoebe Wahl, Author/Illustrator, Website

Rowboat Watkins, Author/Illustrator, Website

Jeri Watts, Author, Twitter

Deborah Wiles, Author, Website

Nicola Winstanley, Author, Website

Taeeun Yoo, Author/Illustrator, Website

Hyewon Yum, Author/Illustrator, Website

*Paul Zelinsky, Author/Illustrator, Website

Leadership Team

The dedicated members of our Leadership Team are responsible for designing and implementing the EJK Award 35th Anniversary Public Awareness Campaign along with our Executive Committee, Advisory Committee and the thousands around the country who are committed to the goals of the Ezra Jack Keats Foundation.

Ramona CaponegroDirector of Educational Programming & Content, EJK Award 35th Anniversary; Associate Professor of Children’s LiteratureEastern Michigan University

Stace MercierExecutive DirectorThe University of Southern Mississippi Foundation

Deborah PopeExecutive DirectorEzra Jack Keats Foundation

Karen RowellDirector of Children’s Book FestivalThe University of Southern Mississippi

Ellen RuffinCurator Literature CollectionDe Grummond Collection

John ScottLibrarianFriends School of Baltimore

Robyn L. SteinCampaign Director, EJK Award 35th Anniversary; President, Robyn L. Stein Group

Claire ThompsonCoordinator, EJK Award, The University of Southern Mississippi

Tracy van StraatenPresidentTvS Media Group LLC

Diana VozzaAssociate DirectorEzra Jack Keats Foundation

Teresa WelshProfessor and Director of Library Info and ScienceThe University of Southern Mississippi