35th EJK Award Webinars

EJK Award and Honor winners are being featured in webinars and conferences on a variety of topics throughout our 35th anniversary year. Links are provided, where possible, to those that have already taken place, and you’ll also find a list of upcoming events scheduled into 2021. We’re proud to host these webinars in partnership with the de Grummond Children’s Book Collection at the University of Southern Mississippi.

Children’s Book Creation: Passion, Craft, Commitment

A special EJK Foundation keynote took place at the 2020 Fall Fay B. Kaigler Festival November 17th. EJK Award winners Meg Medina, Derrick Barnes, Shirin Bridges, Sophie Blackall, Shadra Strickland, and Don Tate showed their award winning books, talked about what they are up to, and discussed projects in development.

Five attendees were selected to receive a $100 gift certificate to the EJK Award Bookshop.

Learn More and Watch the Webinar

Latinx KidLit: Meet the Makers

Moderated by Ramona Caponegro, this event features studio tours of EJK Honorees Zeke Peña, Bianca Diaz, and Juana Martinez-Neal in a lively discussion, including a focus on their creative processes.

Five attendees were selected to receive a $100 gift certificate to the EJK Award Bookshop.

Learn More and Watch the Webinar

Mock EJK Award

Educators Ramona Caponegro, John Scott, Caroline Ward, and Chris Carter offer their special Virtual Tips and insights into running a Mock EJK Award program with a focus on book selection and eligibility, modeling guided discussions based on kid friendly criteria and voting methodologies that work. The group is joined by special guest and 2020 EJK Award winner Ashleigh Corrin, illustrator of Layla’s Happiness.

Watch the Webinar

Learn More and Download Lesson Plans Here

EJK Award: 35 Years Making a Difference in Diverse Book

Moderated by Ramona Caponegro, the panelists—Claudette McLinn, a leader for diverse children’s literature and an EJK Award selection committee member, Don Tate an EJK Award recipient who has served on the selection committee, and Kim Grad a public library youth services coordinator—share perspectives on how public librarians can select excellent and diverse picture books for their collections and programming.

Learn More and Watch the Webinar

Silent Auction Soiree

Kidlit luminaries Pat Cummings, Carmen Agra Deedy and Paul O. Zelinsky are featured in this warm and informative art talk with co-host, gallery director Rich Michelson (R. Michelson Galleries). Included are Rich’s conversations with many of the almost thirty artists who donated original artwork to the auction including Sophie Blackall, Bryan Collier, Oge Mora and Christian Robinson. We’re pleased to report that the auction raised more than $19,000 to increase the monetary award for future EJK Winners and Honorees.

Mock EJK Award Panel

Following a year of experimentation and discovery with remote learning, teachers and librarians led a lively and interactive Mock Award panel. Along with moderator and librarian Caroline Ward, the panel consisting of a school librarian, lower school teachers and a university professor, discussed their successful and exciting collaboration, between Friends School of Baltimore lower school students and students from Eastern Michigan University. They employed critical analysis of new and diverse literature and the unique kid-friendly criteria based on the actual Ezra Jack Keats (EJK) Award.

Books of Wonder

This illustrious children’s bookstore in New York City hosted three Virtual EJK Award panels in April 2021 that are now available for viewing.

Two panels featured the 2021 EJK Award Winners and Honorees in their first public appearances following the award ceremony. The first includes the EJK Award Illustrator winner Heidi Woodward Sheffield, and honorees Steve Small and Victoria Tentler-Krylov. The second panel includes the EJK Award Writer winner Tricia Elam Walker, and honorees Raymond Antrobus, Jarrett and Jerome Pumphrey.

Watch the Illustrator Panel

Watch the Writer Panel

The third panel featured Pat Cummings (EC Member, award winning author and illustrator) leading a conversation between four past EJK Award winners and honoree: Oge Mora, Meg Medina, Sydney Smith and Mike Curato.

Watch the Luminaries Panel