both-seals-verticalAbout the Award

Known collectively as the Ezra Jack Keats Book Award, the New Writer Award was established in 1985 and the New Illustrator Award in 2001 to recognize and encourage emerging talent in the field of children’s books. Many past winners have gone on to distinguished careers, creating books beloved by parents, children, librarians and teachers around the world. Read more




Our Partner: The
de Grummond Children’s Literature Collection

In April, the winners of the EJK Book Award travel to Hattiesburg, Mississippi, to accept their prizes at a luncheon honoring Ezra Jack Keats. The event, part of the Fay B. Kaigler Children’s Book Festival, is hosted by the de Grummond Children’s Literature Collection at The University of Southern Mississippi. Read more



Snowy_spring_cleanSubmission Guidelines

New Writer Award
New Illustrator Award

Award Winners


Chieri Uegaki
New Writer Award

Hana Hashimoto, Sixth Violin

Read our interview
with Chieri



Chris Haughton
New Illustrator Award

Shh! We Have a Plan

Read our interview
with Chris


2015 Award Winners and Honors
EJK Book Award Archive, 1986–2014


Book Award Winners Poster



click image to enlarge